Arden Photo Gallery / Page 6

Cleo's Grocery & Craft Store, originally McCamis General Store, was first built around 1884. It was rebuilt in 1910 and again in 1923, after a fire. It was operated by the McCamis family until 1993.

The building features a fieldstone foundation, frame construction and beautiful false front common to 19th century Prairie stores. It is approximately 32 feet wide by 80 feet deep.

Inside, it still has a classic wooden floor and high ceiling. The fir flooring, dark with age, still has an oil luster. For decades, the floor was 'oiled' every three months with a highly-flammable blend of linseed oil and a solvent such as kerosene.

Today, Cleo's store offers hot or cold drinks, light lunches, groceries, an array of souvenirs and gifts bearing the Arden Crocus logo. Locally made crafts and photography also are featured.